Valentine’s Day Episode One

image

I looked at my reflection in the mirror and I loved what I saw. Although I spent half the night perfecting the Windsor knot in a bid to impress my girlfriend Gbemisola, I was too excited to be tired. After I’d sprayed about a third of the bottle of my perfume on my clothing and hair, I left the birth room.

My roommate, Jude was still sleeping soundly and although I envied him, I was almost late for my first lecture of the day. I tried to call Gbemisola but her line was switched off. After checking the contents of my school bag and making sure I’d not forgotten anything I picked it up, prayed to God and then left the room.

The long walk from my hostel to the lecture theatre wasn’t as daunting as it used to be. With my earpiece plugged in my ear, I put Pharrell Williams’ Happy on repeat on my phone. Most of the students I crossed paths with wore clothes of different shades of pink and red and I greeted all of them with a big smile.

Gabriel Oladeji Lecture theatre was almost filled up when I walked in through the main entrance. My phone vibrated and I brought it out of my pocket to check why. I was reading the hilarious WhatsApp message that came in while still walking when I suddenly bumped into someone.

I looked up quickly and saw that it was a girl and that she’d lost her footing and she was about to fall down. Still can’t figure out how I did it but with Spiderman-like reflexes I caught her just before she hit the floor. Maybe it was the adrenaline rush or maybe I have superhero genes.

image

“I’m so sorry! Hope I didn’t injure you?”, I said.

” I’m fine and thanks for the catch”, She replied.

“You’re welcome. I don’t get the chance to be a hero everyday.”

She smiled and then glanced at her wrist watch.

“Let me not delay you any further. Happy Valentine’s day”, I said.

” Yeah!”, she replied and I noticed that the smile disappeared from her face. “Thanks again.”

We went our separate ways and I searched for a comfortable seat and sat down. The lecture theatre was rowdy because most of the students were talking in loud voices. I tried to call Gbemisola again but that annoying voice still told me that the line was switched off. While I was searching for Gbemisola’s roommate number on my contacts list, the lecture theatre suddenly became as quite as a grave.

This only meant one thing; Prof. Alasoadura was inside the lecture theatre.

Leave a Reply

