Daily Ritual

Mary woke up and did the first thing she always did, the thing she loved most: she checked her phone.

There wasn’t any new message. She checked again to make sure. Her heart sank and she felt hollow.

It has become something of a daily ritual for Mary to read good morning text messages sent by her friend Tobi.

She met Tobi at the University Library about two years ago and they’ve been good friends since then. Their love for reading brought them together.

While Mary was brushing her teeth she remembered that Tobi had been absent-minded while she was teaching him some arithmetic the previous day. She also sensed that he wanted to tell her something. Tobi doesn’t speak much; he expresses himself more in writing.

A message came in while she was getting dressed and when she saw that it was from Tobi she became excited. She opened the text and started reading.

“Life would be so much easier if we could snap our fingers and get whatever we want. If only I’d seen it coming, I might have braced myself for the impact. But you know what they say ‘you can’t choose who you fall in love with, it just happens.’ I have been in love with you for sometime now but I’ve been trying my best to hide it and I must confess it hasn’t been a walk in the park. I’ve tried to summon the courage to tell you but I always chicken out at the last minute. I’ll like to know if you feel the same way? I’ll respect whatever answer you give me.”

A bright smile had lighted up her face before she finished reading. MARY decided that she will tell him her answer in person when they meet later that day.

 

ADEWUYI

2 thoughts on “Daily Ritual

  1. …when they met, she looked into his eyes and said, I enjoy ur company, I like your texts but truth is- I love you more!

    …Or what did she tell him?
    *smiles*
    Feeling You Bro! Thumbs Up!

Leave a Reply

