World Cup Fever

indexThe love I have for watching football is second only to the love of reading. I enjoy watching the round leather sport a lot. I’m also happy that I have the privilege of watching arguably the two best players football has ever seen; Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. In case you don’t know, I’m also a fan of the best football club in the world, Manchester United.

The biggest football event on Earth, the FIFA World Cup starts today, 12th June 2014 and it would be an understatement if I say I’ve been impatiently waiting for today. The first World Cup I could remember experiencing was U.S.A ’94 and that was the first World Cup my country, Nigeria qualified for.

The opening ceremony of Brazil 2014 is a must-see spectacle and the Selecao of Brazil kick off the tournament against Croatia immediately after the ceremony in the first of 64 fixtures. I hope I’ll be able to watch as many matches as possible because some mouth watering matches have been scheduled.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are drawn in group F with Bosnia-Herzegovina, Argentina and Iran and the first match against Iran will be played on Monday 16th June.

Obviously, Argentina are clear favorites to top the group due to the calibre of players they’ve got. As a Nigerian, I’ll be rooting for the Super Eagles and I’m hoping they also qualify from the group in second place.

Judging by the shambolic performances of the Super Eagles at the pre-tournament friendlies, I don’t see the team going past the group stages. The performance against U.S.A was particularly abysmal.

Some soccer pundits are saying that the reason for the poor performances was because the players were playing courteously so that they won’t get injured before the tournament. I pray that’s true.

The previous World Cups I experienced weren’t disappointing and I know that by 13th July, when the final game will be played I will be satisfied. I’m looking forward to a fun filled 31 days of soccer action.

ADEWUYI

