Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover

Martin Tupper once said that “a good book is the best of friends, the same today & for ever”. Reading novels is one of my hobbies. I have read quite a lot that I’v lost count. I’m an individual that doesn’t judge a book by its cover and I also don’t judge a book by its earlier chapters. Once I start reading a book, I usually finish it. 
   Sometime around late 2010 or early 2011, I broke my rule by judging a book by its cover and I wouldn’t have forgiven myself if I didn’t later read this awesome tale. The book is A GAME OF THRONES. It is the first of five books in the “A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE” series. I had just finished reading THE HUNGER GAMES trilogy and I was anxious to read another series that won’t turn out to be a waste of time. As a big fan of the FANTASY genre, I searched for the top ten fantasy books and A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE was ranked fourth behind THE LORD OF THE RINGS, WHEEL OF TIME & THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA. 

   I decided to download A GAME OF THRONES. When I saw a dragon on the cover page, I decided not to read it because I didn’t feel like reading about dragons again. The good thing was that I didn’t delete it. 

Some months later, I was looking for something to read when I saw the book again & I decided to read it because there wasn’t any other one I haven’t already read on my phone. It was so interesting that I didn’t stop reading it until the wee hours of the next day. 

I downloaded the book two before I even finished book one. While I was halfway through the book two I heard about the television adaptation of the series which is titled GAME OF THRONES. I immediately bought the DVD & I must confess that the producers did a good job although it’s not as interesting as the book. 

I have now made a promise to myself that I will never judge a book by its cover again.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover

  1. Nice! Glad to hear that people are enjoying the book series.

    I was also glad that the television adaptation is extremely faithful. It’s true they can’t bring on all the details from the books… but that’s what the books are for.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

