Diary of a MANCHESTER UNITED fan

As far back as I could remember, I have always been a fan of sports generally, except Golf. I just don’t like Golf at all, maybe because its mostly played by old men *wink*. Although I love sports, Football is number one on my list. 

My Grandma once told me that during one of the holidays I spent with her while I was a kid, I practically dragged her from the kitchen to the sitting room so that she could see Samson Siasia, a very popular Nigerian footballer then, on T.V. 
   Almost all football lovers have a team they support and I’m a proud supporter of the greatest club in the world, MANCHESTER UNITED. I can’t really remember why or how I started supporting Manchester United. I guess I was influenced by my elder brother who is also a Manchester United fan. 
I remember memorable matches like the 1999 Champions League Final win against Bayern Munich. The penalty shootout win against Chelsea at 2008, also a Champions League Final, just to mention a few cos they are quite numerous. I also love Sir Alex Ferguson and I remember many matches that were won during “Fergie Time” while he was at the helm of affairs. 

When Ferguson left and David Moyes was appointed as his successor, I wasn’t happy about it because I felt managers like Jurgen Klopp were more qualified. I decided to give him my support after listening to Fergie’s speech. Considering Manchester United’s performances this season and the fact that the team is now eleven points behind bitter rivals Liverpool, who are currently occupying the last champions league spot, I think that it confirms that Moyes ain’t the right man for the job. 

While I was watching the 2-2 draw against Fulham, a guy sitting next to me said 
“Every match is a big match for Man Utd this season”. 
He is right and I think sacking Moyes by May won’t be a bad idea. What about you?

Leave a Reply

